Bulletin Boards
Home Page
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MembersMembers
 User Control PanelUser Control Panel   LoginLogin 

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Help Breastfeeding
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 11:43 pm 

My baby is a month old and I started to breast feed her right after she was born. Everything was going well until she was 2 weeks old and I got mastitis (infection of the breast) and although I would cry when she nursed it hurt so bad I continued to nurse her. But, ever since I can not get my milk to "let down", my breasts aren't as large as they were at first so I don't believe I have as much milk. Anyways... I really want to breastfeed and I've made it through the hard part but I can only pump ( i pump so I can see how much I am getting out) like 3-4 ounces 2 times a day (some days) and that is a total of 3-4 from both breasts combined. This is my first child and I have been leaking since I was 5 months pregnant so I figured I would be a good breastfeeder! Does anyone have any suggestions on how to increase my milk supply or how to get the milk to "let down"??? I eat healthy, drink plenty of fluids, get as much rest as possible,use warm and cold compresses... everything I can think of! Please, help me because I really want to breastfeed!! Thank you!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 3:46 pm 

Try this, it worked for me and the women in the Breastfeeding clinic I went to also suggested it.