Bulletin Boards
Home Page
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MembersMembers
 User Control PanelUser Control Panel   LoginLogin 

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Sleepless at 12 months
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 9:07 am 

Hello,

I am new to this bulletin board - my name is Nicholas, my wife's name is Naomi and we have a daughter of nearly 13 months.

Theresa is a very active child - she started walking at 8 months. She was breastfeed exclusively until 6 months, when we began introducing solids slowly. She is still breastfeeding, but eating and drinking more otherwise.

Since 8 months, her sleeping has been HORRENDOUS. She doesn't sleep well day or night (though lately she has been sleeping up to 2 hours in total during the day, in two sessions). Her nights have become very bad, with her waking 4 - 10 times a night, crying. She stands up in her cot AND SCREAMS, until eventually it is impossible, and she ends up in our bed. Even there, she is very restless, waking constantly to nurse. Our family doctor prescribed a medication to be used on occasion, but it is now ineffective at even max dosage. We think weaning her may help - PROBLEM: any suggestions on doing this, when she won't go to sleep WITHOUT nursing? Any ideas will be much appreciated!

Thank you,
Nicholas

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 11:40 pm 

WARNING: AMATEUR OPINIONS BELOW