Bulletin Boards
Home Page
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MembersMembers
 User Control PanelUser Control Panel   LoginLogin 

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Won't self-feed
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 1:28 pm 

I am new to this message board. I have little girl who is almost 10-months-old. She eats babyfood well and drinks a bottle (breast mild and formula). However, she refuses to even attempt to drink from a cup and will not pick anything up to feed herself. We have tried teething biscuits and graham crackers, but she just plays with them. When we try to feed her, she cries or turns her head. She has no interest in cheerios. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 2:08 pm 

Hi,

I would try the cheerios, graham crackers, banana chunks, etc. when you know she is going to be hungry. She will be more willing to try new foods, and self-feed rather than playing with the food if she is hungry.
Don't worry or make an issue of it, just put her in her highchair and put the finger food in front of her. If she is hungry enough, believe me, she will put the food in her mouth. Also, with the sippy cup, just keep trying. Put it on the highchair beside the finger food. Also try offering her water, unsweetened juice or juice watered down between meals in a cup just so that she gets used to it.

All of this will take time and patience and eventually she will self-feed and use a cup, but at her own pace.

Good luck :wink:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 3:55 pm 

Once again, I agree with Nikki!! She will do it when she is ready!! As for the sippy cup...have you tried some fun sippy cups? I mean like the ones shaped like characters or with fun tops? That may generate some interest.

Welcome to BP!! I hope to hear more about your little one!!

Hugs,

Beth

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 9:59 pm